Denver DUI Attorney Reveals What Vacationers Should Know About Legal Marijuana And Colorado DUI Laws

Even since Colorado legalized the use of recreational marijuana it has led to many vacationers choosing Colorado as their “go-to” destination. The legalization of recreational marijuana is exciting and many people want to get in on the action and the best way to do that is by heading to Colorado. There are already many travel companies that provide marijuana tours and will help you get the most out of your recreational marijuana experience. With that being said, there are some things that vacationers should know about legal weed before they spark up a joint.

Here is what you should know about legal marijuana and DUI’s in the state of Colorado.

It is illegal to drive under the influence

Even though marijuana is legal for recreational use in the state of Colorado, it is still illegal to operate a vehicle while being impaired. This is something that is often overlooked by vacationers that are coming into the state to enjoy a bit of marijuana. These “pot tourists” must understand that consuming marijuana, whether by smoking it, eating it or from second hand inhalation, can get them high and cause them to be impaired. If you are a tourist you should always remember to play it safe and do not drive if there is any chance that you will be getting even a little bit high. 

Prescribed marijuana and driving 

It is important to understand that the law specifically states that it is illegal to drive while being impaired by any substance. This does not exclude your medically prescribed medications. Many people are not aware of this and they think that if their doctor has prescribed them something to take that it will be okay to consume while operating a motor vehicle. However, this is not the case and it is still very illegal to operate your vehicle if you have consumed medical marijuana.  If you are a vacationer and you plan to bring your medical marijuana into the state, make sure that you do not get high and then operate your vehicle because if the police pull you over you may be charged with a DUI.

Age limitations 

If you are travelling in the state of Colorado to enjoy some pot, then you must remember that you will have to be 21 years of age or older to possess or use marijuana. If you are caught driving under the influence and you are under the age of 21 you may be charged with an unlawful possession as well. Also, if you were the one that did not purchase the marijuana it may cause problems for the person and that provides you with the marijuana. 

They inform the state you live in 

If you get a DUI in Colorado as a tourist it causes some additional issues as well. If the state of Colorado suspends your license, then they will have to contact your home state and let them know. Since your primary residence is in another state, the justice system in Colorado must inform your home state of your charge and your home state may not allow you to drive anymore.  

Penalties 

If you are charged with a DUI in Colorado and it is your first offense, then it will likely be considered a misdemeanor. If you are being charged with your fourth DUI, then it is considered a felony and the penalties can be much worse. The penalties for a felony DUI conviction can result in up to 6 years in prison. 

What to do if you are charged with a DUI

If you are charged with a misdemeanor DUI charges, there are some things you should always remember to do to help fight your case. According to www.tranicriminaldefense.com/dui-attorney-denver-co the best way to fight a misdemeanor charge is by first contacting a lawyer specialized in DUI cases. If you want to have the best possible outcome for your case you will want to make sure you are working with one of the top DUI lawyers in the state that have experience dealing with DUI charges for vacationers. Having the right lawyer on your team can help you fight your charge and protect your rights.

Even since Colorado legalized the use of recreational marijuana it has led to many vacationers choosing Colorado as their “go-to” destination. The legalization of recreational marijuana is exciting and many people want to get in on the action and the best way to do that is by heading to Colorado. There are already many travel companies that provide marijuana tours and will help you get the most out of your recreational marijuana experience. With that being said, there are some things that vacationers should know about legal weed before they spark up a joint.

Here is what you should know about legal marijuana and DUI’s in the state of Colorado.

It is illegal to drive under the influence

Even though marijuana is legal for recreational use in the state of Colorado, it is still illegal to operate a vehicle while being impaired. This is something that is often overlooked by vacationers that are coming into the state to enjoy a bit of marijuana. These “pot tourists” must understand that consuming marijuana, whether by smoking it, eating it or from second hand inhalation, can get them high and cause them to be impaired. If you are a tourist you should always remember to play it safe and do not drive if there is any chance that you will be getting even a little bit high. 

Prescribed marijuana and driving 

It is important to understand that the law specifically states that it is illegal to drive while being impaired by any substance. This does not exclude your medically prescribed medications. Many people are not aware of this and they think that if their doctor has prescribed them something to take that it will be okay to consume while operating a motor vehicle. However, this is not the case and it is still very illegal to operate your vehicle if you have consumed medical marijuana.  If you are a vacationer and you plan to bring your medical marijuana into the state, make sure that you do not get high and then operate your vehicle because if the police pull you over you may be charged with a DUI.

Age limitations 

If you are travelling in the state of Colorado to enjoy some pot, then you must remember that you will have to be 21 years of age or older to possess or use marijuana. If you are caught driving under the influence and you are under the age of 21 you may be charged with an unlawful possession as well. Also, if you were the one that did not purchase the marijuana it may cause problems for the person and that provides you with the marijuana. 

They inform the state you live in 

If you get a DUI in Colorado as a tourist it causes some additional issues as well. If the state of Colorado suspends your license, then they will have to contact your home state and let them know. Since your primary residence is in another state, the justice system in Colorado must inform your home state of your charge and your home state may not allow you to drive anymore.  

Penalties 

If you are charged with a DUI in Colorado and it is your first offense, then it will likely be considered a misdemeanor. If you are being charged with your fourth DUI, then it is considered a felony and the penalties can be much worse. The penalties for a felony DUI conviction can result in up to 6 years in prison. 

What to do if you are charged with a DUI

If you are charged with a misdemeanor DUI charges, there are some things you should always remember to do to help fight your case. According to www.tranicriminaldefense.com/dui-attorney-denver-co the best way to fight a misdemeanor charge is by first contacting a lawyer specialized in DUI cases. If you want to have the best possible outcome for your case you will want to make sure you are working with one of the top DUI lawyers in the state that have experience dealing with DUI charges for vacationers. Having the right lawyer on your team can help you fight your charge and protect your rights.

Smoking marijuana legally can be a fun way to spend your vacation with your friends and family, but if you are planning on heading to Colorado to enjoy some of the green stuff make sure you understand the DUI laws in the state. A DUI can have a negative impact on your career and relationships so it is important to make sure you follow all the governing federal and state laws before you smoke. The best advice you can take is to never get behind the wheel of a motorized vehicle after taking marijuana. If it is too late for you to take that advice and you have already been charged with a DUI make sure you contact a highly qualified lawyer that has extensive experience dealing with this sort of thing so that you will be able to fight your case and protect your rights. 

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail.


839GYLCCC1992