Navigating Medical Marijuana on a Budget in Connecticut

Not only can you get a medical marijuana card in Connecticut, but you can also access adult-use marijuana once you turn 21. Recreational weed is a new thing in CT, and with your MMJ card, you're still likely to benefit from lower-cost products, not to mention bigger possession limits.

For instance, recreational users can possess up to 1.5 ounces of weed, whereas with a medical marijuana card in Connecticut, you can purchase and possess up to five ounces! So, if you have a medical issue that requires more than the recreational limit, it makes sense to get your hands on an MMJ card.

Below, I outline the laws surrounding medical marijuana in CT and discuss the price of buying it.

What Are the Marijuana Rules in Connecticut?

It has been possible to access a medical marijuana card in Connecticut for a long time, which means the program is well established. The state legalized MMJ in June 2012, exactly one year after it decriminalized the possession of up to half an ounce of the substance.

Fast forward nine years and CT legalized recreational weed in Jun 2021. However, residents had to wait until January 2023 for legal sales to begin.

As such, it is becoming difficult to get into major trouble for marijuana possession in Connecticut! You will need to be caught with more than 1.5 ounces of weed (without an MMJ card) to be charged with a misdemeanor. However, if you are convicted, you could spend up to a year in jail! It is a felony to sell any amount of weed without the proper licensing. If convicted, you could be sentenced to up to seven years in prison!

So, if you believe you need more than the recreational amount, it is wise to apply for an MMJ card. There is really no excuse for not doing so, especially since you can get a Connecticut medical marijuana card online using a service like MMJCardOnline. This organization helps you book a consultation with a medical professional without leaving your home!

The appointment rarely lasts more than 15 minutes and if you don't get a written certification, you get your money back. Once you have the certification, sign up for an official government account, complete the application, and provide proof of ID. While the state can take up to 30 days to process your application, it will probably be much faster. Once you get your card in the mail, it's time to visit a licensed dispensary.

Let's take a look at how much you're likely to pay for your marijuana.

What's the Cost of Cannabis in Connecticut?

When recreational cannabis first went on sale, residents were surprised at the cost. They found that products were significantly more expensive than in surrounding states. One customer took to social media to complain that it cost $35 for a pre-roll that didn't even get them high!

In Stanford, a 100mg container of weed gummies cost $40, for instance. By contrast, a similar product cost $25 in dispensaries in Massachusetts.

Perhaps surprisingly, the cost of medical marijuana also increased in the aftermath of recreational legalization. Indeed, the average price rose almost 4% in the first two months. The fact that the new law doubled MMJ patient limits might have had an impact of sorts.

There was a huge difference in the price of flower in Connecticut and Massachusetts too. In Connecticut, an eighth cost over $40 in 2023, while in Massachusetts, it cost just $23.

So, it seems as if people with a medical marijuana card in Connecticut must wait for prices to fall. Inevitably, they will as the supply begins to outweigh demand. With research showing benefits of MMJ such as reducing pain, most patients will accept the higher cost for now.

Final Thoughts on Affording MMJ in Connecticut

If you have a medical marijuana card in Connecticut, you can buy and possess an incredible five ounces of weed, more than triple what recreational users can legally access. But, for the time being, you can expect to pay a fairly high price for your medicine.

Please don't think about travelling to Massachusetts to buy weed and bring it back home. It is a felony to transport marijuana across state lines, regardless of whether the substance is legal where you live and where you're travelling to. Shop around to see which CT dispensaries give you the best value for money.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail.